Living in the Present

The Porch Swing I Wrote This OnDear readers,

Right now I am at the beach. I am currently outside sitting on a wooden porch swing. It’s comfy in a hard, solid kind of way. As I was rocking back and forth, I thought, “Wow, it’s only Tuesday.” We got here Saturday afternoon, so today is only our fourth day here. It feels like we’ve been here a whole week, though. The days seem to last forever. You know the saying “time flies when you’re having fun?” Well, I’m having lots of fun, but the days seem to be even longer than when I’m at home. I think it’s because everyone and everything here is so laid back. I feel relaxed. I’m enjoying every little moment.

Some days at home it seems I’ll check my phone in the morning, then suddenly I look up and its 4 P.M. and I have to eat dinner soon. That’s not to say that I haven’t been on my phone this beach trip, but I am saying that it’s important to live where you are. It’s not good to live someone else’s life or be someone else through social media. With so many apps such as Snapchat, Instagram, Facebook, Tumblr, Vine and Twitter, it’s tempting to try to make yourself look cooler or more impressive or more interesting, and it’s also easy to spend a lot of time mindlessly scrolling through each of these social platforms. It’s almost habitual to “just check your phone for one thing” then wind up one hour later stalking your friend’s cousin’s boyfriend’s best friend’s Instagram page (and accidentally liking a photo from 63 weeks ago, too).

My point is this: maybe it’s good to forget the phone for a moment. It’s actually nice to spend time with the people you love, honestly giving them your attention. It’s so refreshing when I meet a friend at a small coffee shop and they aren’t shut up in their own personal box invested on their phone. As my uncle says, “live in the moment.” Moments make up our life. If we want to have a good life, we need to truly live in the good, simple, lifelong moments God gives us.

Love always,

Gail

P.S. Here’s a joke: the past, present and future walked into a bar. it was tense. Haha, sorry. 🙂

One thought on “Living in the Present

Leave a Reply

